Mountain Project Logo

Acadia National Park

Original Post
Max Frey · · Denver, CO · Joined May 2016 · Points: 0

Hey Guys,

I'll be out in Acadia National Park for a week from July 18-22. Otter rocks looks sweet. So does that Pinnacle area. Looking for a buddy and/or some advice. I'll elaborate.

I know my anchor systems (in bolts... cordlettes / quads / cleaning anchors) for TR / sport. Totally comfortable at a crag, lead/ TR belaying. I have all the gear to top rope / sport climb. I'd like to be with someone more experienced than me.

I'm a trad novice, with a set of nuts and few cams. I've received a bit of instruction from friends, and have placed ~15 pieces in my life. Lead two climbs at a 5.4 that didn't require gear to feel safe on. I climb outside regularly and imagine I'll be a "solid" novice come July, but I tend to climb sport more often.

I figure the best option for me at this point is to hire a guide for a full or half day and receive some legitimate instruction on gear placements / get an introduction to Acadia climbing. But, I don't REALLY wanna pay for that..

SO 2 questions:

1. Anyone who has been there: how do you build anchors on the staples? I have a triple length runner, or 20 ft of 8mm that I normally use, but am fine climbing on 2 draws too. What's your go to system up there?

2. Any thoughts on the guide option, or anyone willing to rope up for some trad for a day? I'd TR too but I can do that with my friends / family... I'm looking to place some gear! Or at least follow yours!

Best,

Max

M Bageant · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 70

I know you don't want to blow the cash on it, but hiring a guide may be worth it just for the enhanced experience and learning about placing gear. The guiding services that cover Otter Cliffs do a really good job. Just food for thought.