Mountain Project Logo

Is my sole delaminating or does my footwork suck?

Original Post
Steve M · · Poulsbo, WA · Joined May 2015 · Points: 106

(...or both?)

So I've been climbing in my Redlines for about three months now, and even after just a month I noticed the tip of the toe on my right foot separating from the rand. It's been getting progressively worse and as it has widened out, I can see that it looks like the sole never bonded to the rand in that area originally. Is this something I should take up with Madrock? Or am I just out of luck?

Redline Sole

I know the first question will be "did you leave them in a hot car?" and no, I did not. Any time my shoes were in the car, I was also in there with them.

bearbreeder · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2009 · Points: 3,065

delamination ... the wear around the rest of the area is fairly normal

cant speak about mad rocks ... but its fairly common with sportivas

;)

csproul · · Pittsboro...sort of, NC · Joined Dec 2009 · Points: 330

Looks like delam to me. Toe draggers usually put a hole higher up on the toe. That is pretty much where I'd expect to see the bulk of the wear from standing on your toes. After three months, however, I suspect you're just out of luck. You might be able to climb on them a little longer, but make sure you don't wear into the rand if you don't want to pay for rand repair.

Thanks guys, I was afraid of that.

It's too bad, the redlines are a really great shoe! (aside from this issue i should add :P)

Joshua Griffin · · Glenwood Springs, CO · Joined May 2012 · Points: 60

Since the OP got his answer, I'll but in and claim that I did leave my LaSportivas in my hot car so... not that my heel is entirely delaminated, what glue should I use to reattach the sole? Maybe Steve can re-glue as well?

Joshua

Gunkiemike · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2009 · Points: 3,492

Barge cement. Thin coat, let dry, heat up, then press HARD together.