Mountain Project Logo

FiveTen 5X climbing shoes

Original Post
lee hansche · · goffstown, nh · Joined Jan 2007 · Points: 21,285

I ordered a pair of the new 5X shoes from FiveTen. They told me they wouldn't be in until march but i put an order in anyway and asked them to send them when they came in. I got a call the next day that they had a pair in my size and were shipping them out. In a few days my new loves arrived. I tried them out in the gym and loved the fit but wasn't sure how they would be on rock. Two days later I was at Rumney for a nice February in New England day of cragging on routes form 5.10 to 5.12d. They were just what i thought they would be, My favorite shoe ever.

I've been climbing for over 15 years and tried a good number of shoes but my favorites have come to be the Moccasym and the Anasazi. The 5X is like combining the better parts of these two shoes to make a super shoe that has it all. The front is like The moccasym which is awesome in cracks and low angle face climbing. the unlined leather is like the Moc as well (buy them way small they will stretch just like the moccasym). They advertised lined leather but they told me they were unlined when i talked to them. The heel is like the new Anasazi heel and the velcro strap in the middle gives you support through the midsole where you needed it in the maccasym but couldn't get it there for making it better for steeper and crimpy routes where you need to edge (this was the downside to the old Moccasym. I always bought my Mocs super tight so when they would stretch they wouldn't get too loose but the first few times out with them it would be a bitch to get them on and off. The zipper helps with this issue by allowing you to put your foot in before zipping up tight and strapping up your velcro. Oh yeah the price is OK as well clocking in at a midrange $125.00.