Mountain Project Logo

Power Endurance on a Budget - Time that is

Original Post
Kevin Stricker · · Evergreen, CO · Joined Oct 2002 · Points: 1,197

So here is another one I have been thinking about. In the past I have always worked PE in a climbing gym or on the rocks. Nowdays I live outside Evergreen, and cannot get into the gym on a regular basis, and usually can only get on the rock once a week.

What are some other workouts you have done to increase your PE when you can't get on long routes? Tell me about your 4X4 sessions and how they have helped. How about HIT training for the same? There is some good bouldering nearby, but most of the problems are more on the power side for me currently. I have a 50 degree Systems wall, but again I can only lap it a few times before failure.

Basically I am trying to improve my ability to hang on multiple smaller holds on overhanging terrain, with the goal of sending harder long sport routes up to about 15 degrees overhanging. Only being able to get on such routes once or twice a week I am looking for some supplemental training ideas. Thanks!

John McNamee · · Littleton, CO · Joined Jul 2002 · Points: 1,690

Kevin,

I found this link a while back which has a chapter about PE. It's basically a book aimed at preparing for competitions.

mikedoyle.ca/climbing/coach…

Some good information and links on his site as well.

mikedoyle.ca/index.shtml

You can also download it as a PDF as well.

Good luck at reaching your goals and having fun getting there.

Cheers

John

Monomaniac · · Morrison, CO · Joined Oct 2006 · Points: 17,295

Considering the constraints, I would suggest modified 4x4s. Do you have space to add a small bouldering wall near the systems board? You don't anything big, just large enough to hold several boulder problems, all of which can be overlapping.