Mountain Project Logo

Advise on guiding.

Original Post
Cris Garcia · · Michigan · Joined Dec 2017 · Points: 42

March 19th last year I made a post about thinking about becoming a guide and got some awesome information. I'm Finally looking to start getting into guiding. Is it a bad time to start all things considered? Idk, maybe. Guides of MP you tell me. Im looking to take my WFR and SPI early next year. I've been climbing for over 4 years and I think my climbing skills are diverse and strong enough to do it. Once school ends in December my plan, if travel is still allowed, is to head down to Potrero through February to get strong; I love being there anyways. I'm planning on singing up to take my WFR in Wisconsin through NOLS which starts early February. Then I plan on working at a climbing gym or elsewhere until I can take my SPI (which hypothetically could be done shortly after the WFR, or before if I really wanted). I haven't found a SPI class yet so I'm open to suggestions. I'm planning on getting my WFR through NOLS. I'd love to hear about your experience with NOLS if you've been certified through them. I'd like to spend a few seasons at the Red, so many good experiences there... what has your experience of guiding at the red been like?

TLDR: Looking for Input on:

•Is it a bad time to get into guiding?

•Recommendations for SPI classes

•Whats your experience been with NOLS?

•How has guiding at the Red been for you?

•Should I look for a guiding company that will hire me without a SPI in hoped that they help pay or is that atypical of companies to do?

Any other tips or suggestions from guides would also be appreciated. 

Steph Evans · · Belgrade, MT · Joined Jul 2019 · Points: 0