Mountain Project Logo

Belay Anchor "In Series" - "Weiches Auge": Why don't I see this in American tutorials?

Original Post
Patrick Faurot · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2019 · Points: 0

Hey folks,

I am just getting into multi-pitch climbing and have been doing a lot of reading/watching on anchor building. I live in Germany and went out with my buddy who showed me a method for building an anchor with at least one really solid bolt, in which a bowline on a bight (called a weiches Auge in German) is clipped into the lower bolt (or more solid if they are horizontally placed) and the long end of the sling is tied into the carabiner on the second bolt with a clove hitch, without extra slack but not under load. The bowline loop is used then as the master point.

Ortovox describes this method here: https://www.ortovox.com/uk/safety-academy-lab-rock/chapter-3-belay-stations-and-belay-techniques/belay-stations

And this ENSA video describes it as well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqZQnCGl24A

And this mountain project post asks about some clipping technique with this kind of anchor, but doesn't address the series method in itself: https://www.mountainproject.com/forum/topic/118123835/direct-belay-off-of-series-anchor-variations

I've also read about it in a modern alpine climbing manual in German, so it seems like a pretty legit method for building a belay anchor. My question is this: Why did I never come across this technique while watching anchor building tutorials from North America? Every video I've watched stresses equalization as an essential anchor building parameter, and this series method has zero equalization - all of the load is placed on the main bolt.

Some advantages seem to me to be speed in building the anchor with a prepared sling that can be re-used, and that the system being non-equalized, there is no concern about the direction of load changing. Otherwise the anchor is still redundant, it is very efficient, and has low extension.