Mountain Project Logo

What that rope do?

Original Post
David Phillips · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2019 · Points: 0

I am new to climbing
Only have been In the gym so far
Looking to start outdoors
Any information on what kind of rope to buy would be great.
What brand
Size
Length
Treatment
Anything you have. 
Thanks. 

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

"What That Rope Do"

Start by changing the title to this thread.

How long are the routes in your area? That will determine if you want a 60 meter or 70 meter rope.

For your first rope, get something 10 mm or larger diameter. Get a cheap dynamic climbing rope. Don't worry about dry treatment or all the specifications, as you can be easily overwhelmed trying to analyze all those.

Have fun.

Allen Rocha · · Daytona Beach, FL · Joined Jan 2019 · Points: 0

Find friends with ropes and get what they use for your area.
Alternatively get a 9.8 60m like everyone else does for their first rope

Scott Hall · · Fort Collins, CO · Joined Jun 2017 · Points: 0

Hey David!  Congrats on making the effort to transition outdoors!  A couple things before I get into rope details....if you haven't already, please take the time to read up on good leave-no-trace practices.  With the increase in popularity in climbing crags in many places are seeing increased impact, so please take the time to understand and help others understand how to minimize impact.

What kind of climbing are you looking to do?  Assuming it's single pitch sport, a 60 or 70 meter non-dry offering from most rope manufacturers should be more than sufficient.  The first rope I bought was a Mammut Eternity 70m with a 9.8 mm diameter.  I loved this rope and I still use it as a fixed line!