Mountain Project Logo

Belay <insert demeaning word describing management> says - "No ATC for you!"

Nathan Sullivan · · Fort Collins, CO · Joined Sep 2018 · Points: 0

A quick google tells me that the IFSC belayers are taught to give a soft catch by dynamically braking (don't actually stop the rope), which would be rather hard with an ABD.  Basically they go right from feeding to lowering without an actual "catch" anywhere, like a human autobelay.  Thus, the rules require a manual device.  This is likely also to ensure a smooth feed so competitors don't get short roped.

I'll stick with an ABD and actually catching my partners, myself.  I'm not a professional trained comp belayer.

Andrew Rice · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Jan 2016 · Points: 11
Bruce Hildenbrand wrote: Watching the IFSC combined qualifier from Toulouse.  All the belayers are using tube style devices.  Clearly, they don't have any clue what they are doing.

No hangdogging allowed in comps. They don't even stop the climber when they fall, just give a slowed down fall all the way to the floor. 

Bruce Hildenbrand · · Silicon Valley/Boulder · Joined Apr 2003 · Points: 3,626

Just because you feel you need an ABD doesn't mean everyone else needs one, too!  Geez, can't we all just get along and use the belay device with we individually feel most comfortable?

M Mobley · · Bar Harbor, ME · Joined Mar 2006 · Points: 911
Bruce Hildenbrand wrote: Just because you feel you need an ABD doesn't mean everyone else needs one, too!  Geez, can't we all just get along and use the belay device with we individually feel most comfortable?

Its not about you and what you dont want to learn, its about the person you are belaying mostly. I certainly have had MANY close calls with falling rocks over many years, how about you?

Bill Lawry · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 1,812
M Mobes wrote: