Mountain Project Logo

Please help!

Original Post
Spaggett, Gotcha! · · Western NC · Joined Jun 2018 · Points: 0

I’ve been climbing for 4 months now. Can onsight 5.11+/V6- in the gym now (big sandbag tho in my local gym, so I’m probably better than that). Looking to get into multipitch trad outside – esp. want to do this sweet 11-pitch 5.12b in Colorado on a cross country road trip. I hired a guide 2 weeks ago and did some ground practice and feel good about my placements. A few quick questions:

-I know it's a bit ambitious, but do you guys see any risks?
-Can someone send me a training program so I can get fit onsight 5.12a trad in 6 months?  Maybe not books, really busy rn, but something that you’ve done and works quick would be ideal.
-Still recovering from a torn rotator cuff though, doc thinks nothing until Feb, but I bouldered V2- yesterday and felt pretty good with some ibuprofen. Y’all have any experience/recommendations?
-Random question:  If you get pumped, is it safe to place a cam and rest on it? I’m also a little worried about overcamming – I heard that is most likely to pull out…
-Btw, where can I get some cams? If they’re used, how do I check for microcracks?
-Silly question: if I have to rappel on a fixed line, can I use my ATC? I’ve only used GriGri 2, lol.
-Anyone have local SW Kansas crag recommendations that have inclusive 5.9c to 5.10b sport routes – you know, with good flow but no dynos, crimps (I don’t have good grip strength yet but getting a hangboard for xmas tho!), or slab (bc that’s not really climbing)?
-Can someone recommend a mentor? I have a helmet and set of 6 quickdraws to contribute.. Just tell me what else I need to buy!

Otherwise, I think I’m totally ready. I’ve got a lot of stoke to contribute. Oh, and I can’t leave my dog at home bc it gets anxious. Thanks y'all!

Shay Subramanian · · Denver, CO · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 0

1/10

Edit: actually upon re-reading, 0/10, this is truly trash