Mountain Project Logo

Yosemite training in Washington

Original Post
Lohan · · Rome, GA · Joined May 2014 · Points: 345

I am working in Ellensburg for the next 4 weeks, until Ieaving for a month in Yosemite. I'll have weekends free and hangboarding/running in the week. This is my first time in Washington.

Where are the best granite areas that best prepare you for the valley style? Aka cracks, slabs, granite voodoo. Bonus if there is easy access for TR solo, or if you wanna partner up for big volume days. Ideally within 2 hours, not more than 3. Index looks great but wet...

Also would love to hear some trail recommendations in the area.

Thanks!

Max Tepfer · · Bend, OR · Joined Oct 2007 · Points: 2,513

Index is your option. 

Max, it definitely seems like Index is the best spot, but does anything stay dry there? Seems to be raining indefinitely there...or is the forecast not to be trusted?

Billcoe · · Pacific Northwet · Joined Mar 2006 · Points: 930

You're close to both Levenworth that has great granite free routes and is much dryer than Index, and Tower Rock, which has an easy but superlong 14 pitch aid route if you are looking to dial in and speed up your aid systems. I've TR soloed the lower pitches of Rapunzel at Tower Rock when wet (2 ropes to rap off) and it's exciting but do able and super fun.

Nick Drake · · Kent, WA · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 651
Lohan wrote: Max, it definitely seems like Index is the best spot, but does anything stay dry there? Seems to be raining indefinitely there...or is the forecast not to be trusted?

Many routes dry fast with a slight breeze. Lots of access to TR solo with questionable weather, I've done quite a few pitches on UTW in the rain before. 

MikePond · · Reno, NV · Joined Dec 2011 · Points: 80