Mountain Project Logo

Numb, tingly, painful fingertips after frostnip...Prognosis?

Original Post
Smith Curry · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2007 · Points: 0

Got caught in a storm on a long alpine route 2 weeks ago and the next day my fingertips were pretty painful and sensitive---no skin damage though...they've gotten a little better in 2 weeks but I'm still concerned (I'm a professional musician also).  Anybody have any experience with this and any idea when things might get better?
Thanks

Nick Sweeney · · Spokane, WA · Joined Jun 2013 · Points: 969

Sorry to hear about that.  My only cold issues were some frozen toes after falling into a stream while ice climbing, forcing me to endure two hours of hiking back to the car with a boot full of snowmelt.  It took about a year for sensation to return back to normal in the affected toes.

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Did you see a doctor?

Marc H · · Longmont, CO · Joined May 2007 · Points: 265
Smith Curry wrote:Prognosis?

YGD.

Andy Eiter · · Madison, WI · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 276

I had a similar sensation in my fingers after biking to work on a -50 morning this winter. I think the pain went away after a couple days, but there was still that kind of "reheated" feeling for a couple of weeks.

june m · · elmore, vt · Joined Jun 2011 · Points: 110

No blisters? Peeling skin? Probably ok  but always  more sensitive  to cold. Frostbitten toes years ago skiing and I have to wear boot heaters when it's really cold. It's been 20 years plus.

Boissal . · · Small Lake, UT · Joined Aug 2006 · Points: 1,541
Smith Curry wrote: Got caught in a storm on a long alpine route 2 weeks ago and the next day my fingertips were pretty painful and sensitive---no skin damage though...they've gotten a little better in 2 weeks but I'm still concerned (I'm a professional musician also).  Anybody have any experience with this and any idea when things might get better?
Thanks