Mountain Project Logo

Beginners question.

Original Post
Lassi Nokelainen · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2019 · Points: 0

Hey

I have practiced bouldering and (modest) free climbing for a few years. Recently I discovered an amazing gorge near my hometown that has dozens of ~10meter (30ft?) high potential routes.
Since said walls are too big to freeclimb (I dont want to be paralysed), I would need a safety rope of somekind. My plan is to attach a rope on the top of the route, buy a harness and run the rope through a "one-way brake (?)". 
The problem is that I have no knowledge about climbing with ropes and harnesses, and I cant find any information about solo climbing with a single rope (it seems to be either 1000$ gear or freeclimb).
Can someone please tell me what the "brake (I dont know the correct word)" is called? And could I climb with it solo (climbing little bit, then tightening the loose rope through break and repeat)?

Apologies for my bad english, I am not a native speaker.

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Seek proper instruction before you attempt to solo a route. Hire a guide, find some experienced climbers, but don't just go out and wing it. Some people might tell you that's how they learned, but you have a better chance of living if you get properly trained.

Learn roped climbing from experienced climbers BEFORE you attempt to solo a route with a rope.

Marc801 C · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 65

Sorry. At this point you have far too little knowledge to even ask this on the internet. It’s like asking what you need to do to drive a car without ever having driven before.
Get live instruction. 

Jonathan Greever · · Fenton, MO · Joined Mar 2017 · Points: 472