Mountain Project Logo

Where is the climbing community?

Original Post
Just another guy · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2019 · Points: 0

I hear all about how amazing the "climbing community" is but I'm also a little confused how to get into it. Pretty much I'm a lost college student who loves the outdoors more than anything in life but can never seem to find people to enjoy it with. I'm pretty outgoing and have plenty of non adventurous friends, and have no trouble making friends in other places, but when I try to find outdoorsy friends it seems like they just arent there. I tried to find a community of people at college but found only a few friends, I contact people on the partner forums on mountain project and they dont respond, and I would make a club if I could but I dont know how to find other like minded people!

Any given weekend I'll want to go up to the mountains to climb, ski, camp, swim, hike, etc. but inevitably end up having no friends who want to go and just stay around home and boulder in the gym. Do I just say f*ck it and buy a van and move to jackson or yosemite or something? 

Caleb Schwarz · · Colorado Springs, CO · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 120
Just another guy wrote:Do I just say f*ck it and buy a van and move to jackson or yosemite or something? 

Well actually yes

Dan Cooksey · · Pink Ford Thunderbird · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 365

No. Mostly because you can’t live in either of those places In a van.

What you do is drive your ass to Oregon and find Logan Hugmeyer.  You guys can frolic in the woods for days together.

Best of luck. Have fun and be safe. 

https://www.mountainproject.com/forum/topic/117103888/does-anybody-actually-like-to-go-climbing

Bill Lawry · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 1,812