Mountain Project Logo

NC trad climbing partner

Original Post
Imran Anwar · · Durham, NC · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 0

Hey all,

I'm looking for a regular trad partner in NC. Just moved down from Boston to Durham a few weeks ago. I've been climbing for 3+ years outside now, initially mostly sport climbing (projecting 5.12s now) but getting more interested in trad, especially since moving here. Feeling comfortable climbing most 5.9s that I've been on in NC and pushing it currently with low 10s. I've got a double rack with some triples in smaller sizes. I'm comfortable lead belaying with both single and double ropes, setting up gear anchors, multi-pitch logistics and so on.

I'm interested in both climbing long classic moderates all around western NC (looking glass, linville gorge) as well as pushing it on harder single pitch trad climbs. Because of location, Moore's wall would be ideal but I don't mind driving to western NC or even the New. I'm also down to do some hard sport climbing at Pilot mountain.

Availability is a bit unpredictable since I'm currently a resident, I don't have much control over my schedule. I'm on vacation until June 24th so down to climb during that time. Afterwards, it will depend from week to week.

Cheers!

Adam Gallimore · · Greensboro · Joined Mar 2018 · Points: 313

Im headed to stone depot on Friday (June 21). If you would like to join me, send me an email and we can talk details.

Jinny Y. · · North Carolina · Joined Oct 2015 · Points: 0

Hey I'm a resident in Emergency Medicine at Duke (my last year, woohoo!) so I have an erratic schedule too. I'm just getting into trad (up to 5.9 depending on type of climb) and also like to boulder and sport when/if I have time off. I won't be able to go out before June 24 but send me a message or find me in the ED once the year starts.

Doug Emmett · · Richmond, Va · Joined Oct 2018 · Points: 0