Mountain Project Logo

Outer Space whipper in Eldo yesterday

August McKinney · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2019 · Points: 10
Robert Rowsam wrote:

This guy the only one who knows what he's talking about. The grooves, teeth, sandblasting, of lobes is marketing. Makes little, if any difference in holding power. 

I'm new at this, and curious enough that I'm happy to sift through the inevitable chaff if someone can provide an answer. When talking about friction, why does it seem like everyone is in agreement that the surface of the rock matters (gritty, smooth, damp, dirty, whatever) but that the surface of the cam (lobes, teeth, grooves) does not? It seems like when talking about friction between two surfaces, both sides would come into play? The friction between two pieces of sandpaper is greater than between sandpaper and glass, right? Also very possible (likely?) I've missed the point entirely...

And because I'm also new to MP, here is an announcement of my education, climbing experience, skill, and intentions that seem to be required to post here- I'm not an engineer, I have very little experience climbing, my footwork is awful, I only lead trad well below my very modest limit so have thankfully never taken anywhere near a 40 foot fall and hope I never do, and I am just genuinely curious. 
Reggie Pawle · · Boston, MA · Joined Nov 2010 · Points: 5
Will Boyer wrote:

There is no video. It was my girlfriend who whipped when her piece blew on the upper bit. We're not sure why it blew, but she had been running it out a bit previous to that -stoked to be past the "crux overhang" part.

Yes it was gnarly AF but she is ok. Mostly just fell into space, but did smash the wall a little bit with shoulder/head after the rope caught. 

Nothing like seeing your significant other free-falling into view from above an overhang, to wake you up!