Mountain Project Logo

Does ANYBODY actually like to go climbing?

Original Post
Logan Hugmeyer · · Salem · Joined Jan 2019 · Points: 6

Kind of a rant here but im frustrated with the climbing community. We talk about "shirt off our backs" being a close knit community, blah blah blah. If you are a novice you will remain a novice because every time you ask people to climb they are "sooooo busy" then they post a trip report the next weekend. How do you find somebody to actually go outside and climb. People told me buy your own rope. Done. No partners. Start building a rack to contribute to the party. Done. No partners. Go to the climbing gym and talk to people face to face. Done. They look at me like a leper. What am I doing wrong? I really would love to be a belay bitch even but im not part of the community so i will remain not a part of the community. Is it always so damn cliquey? Ive been asking climbers to go climbing since 2015 and 1 person has said yes. Not an exaggeration ONE person. Getting close to selling my shit and taking up needle point. In the off chance that somebody here reads this im in the willamette valley and willing to drive about an hour to climb. Hell I've even offered to buy the beer.

H Lue · · Leavenworth, WA · Joined Nov 2015 · Points: 10

Sorry to hear you're having such a hard time finding partners. Hope things get better, let me know if you're ever in the Seattle area. 

Brad Larson · · portland · Joined Apr 2019 · Points: 0

Hey Logan. I'm in Portland but I'm down near Corvallis regularly. I'd like to tick the routes on Owl Slab near Mary's Peak, for one. Where are you?

Robert S · · Driftwood, TX · Joined Sep 2018 · Points: 654

1. Maybe you really are a leper.

2. Change your username to something obviously feminine and pirate some model pic for your profile. Then you'll get lots of invites.

3.Complain on MP. Wait, never mind...

Drewski Brewski · · OR · Joined Oct 2017 · Points: 0

What city are you in Logan?