Mountain Project Logo

Best Climbing rope

Original Post
Micah Ted · · Durango · Joined Sep 2017 · Points: 120

Hey, I have been been climbing for about three years now and I have finally retired my first rope. Admittedly, later then I probably should have seeing as it is riddled with core shots. I am looking to purchase a new rope but want to make sure I make the right choice. My only requirements is that it is a 70m, dry treated, single rope, that is pretty durable. I have been considering heavily the Blue Water Xenon Double Dry Climbing Rope - 9.2mm. If anyone has used this rope before I would love their opinion and if anyone has other suggestions that would be awesome! Keep in mind that I am a broke college student with an expensive hobby so if you have recommendations try to keep them within a reasonable price range. Thank you so much!

Noah Mills · · San Diego, CA · Joined Jan 2019 · Points: 0
Matthew Jaggers · · Red River Gorge · Joined Sep 2017 · Points: 695

Mammut Infinity Dry is my top pick

Gunkiemike · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2009 · Points: 3,492

Sierra Trading Post is usually the best source for 70m ropes for those on a budget.  And if you want durable, 9.2mm isn't a wise move.

curt86iroc · · Lakewood, CO · Joined Dec 2014 · Points: 274
Eric Engberg · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2009 · Points: 0

I'm partial to Sterlings - Velocity in particular - but there are a number of equivalent possibilities.  I am curious about what I see as inconsistencies in your post.  You list durability as a requirement. You don't list weight. Yet you propose a 9.2 rope - why so thin?

Larry S · · Easton, PA · Joined May 2010 · Points: 872

Mammut infinity is constantly a top pick for durability and handling.  Pricey though.  In the protect dry sheath it retails $250 in a 70m, $300 for full dry.

Chris Owen · · Big Bear Lake · Joined Jan 2002 · Points: 11,622
Ma Ja wrote: Mammut Infinity Dry is my top pick

Mammut Infinity 9.5 would be my choice also.