Mountain Project Logo

Giga Jul Initial Impressions

Original Post
Tim Meehan · · Boulder, CO · Joined Apr 2016 · Points: 190

I've been using a Giga Jul for about 6 months now. Here are some observations about general usability, relative to a Mega Jul, Grigri 2, and DMM Pivot.

Assisted-Braking Mode:

When belaying a leader off the harness, I usually use the Giga Jul in assisted-braking mode. Feeding out rope is smooth when the leader is climbing slow, and snagging the thumb loop and pulling out slack for clips is just like the Mega Jul, if not a little easier. Resistance when pulling out slack is a bit more for the Giga Jul than for the Grigri 2 and Pivot. I've caught a handful of routine sport and trad leader falls with the Giga Jul in this configuration using 9.4 to 9.6 mm ropes, and have had no trouble. As discussed further down thread, it is not clear how well the device will catch high-factor falls on skinny ropes in assisted-braking mode. Lowering a climber from a high anchor off the harness with the Giga Jul in assisted-braking mode is much smoother than with the Mega Jul. It feels similar to lowering with a Grigri 2. Heat build-up and transfer to the lever hand during lowering is not an issue like it is with the Mega Jul.

Non-Assisted-Braking Mode:

When belaying a follower from above, I usually use the Giga Jul in non-assisted-braking mode, with the device attached to the anchor. In this case it feels similar to using my Pivot in guide mode. It is way, way easier to move the rope through a Giga Jul than through a Mega Jul on the anchor, and slightly harder with a Giga Jul than with a Grigri 2. For rappel, I use the Giga Jul in non-assisted-braking mode with an autoblock. It feels identical to rappelling with my Pivot.

Overall: