Mountain Project Logo

Target shooting

Original Post
Kyle Taylor · · Broomfield CO · Joined Sep 2017 · Points: 0

Anyone on here target shoot at all? With all the cool awesome spots we see and travel to for climbing, it only makes sense that you could responsibly and respectfully go target shoot on some of that blm or national forest land also. I’m a bit new to target shooting, so I’m really just asking for advice from those with experience shooting on public lands. Obviously, I want to be law abiding and respectful. Thanks!

Benjamin Chapman · · Small Town, USA · Joined Jan 2007 · Points: 18,974

Kyle...check the USFS website for your respective area. The USFS is pretty explicit about the rules regarding shooting. In most cases there's more emphasis or priority given to target shooting than rock climbing.

Malcolm Daly · · Hailey, ID · Joined Jan 2001 · Points: 380

The Forest Service has shut down a lot of the places where people used to target shoot. Too much trash, too many fires started and too little respect for other people and the environment. You’d probably have better luck out in the Pawnee National Grasslands to the north east. Also, much less chance of starting a forest fire.

Colorado is still hungover from the Lake Christine (Outside of Basalt) fire last summer that was started by someone shooting incendiary rounds. https://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/crime/2-charged-with-starting-lake-christine-fire-at-shooting-range

Go talk to the crew at Jax Outdoors in Lafayette. They’re a great local outdoor mercantile that sells everything from climbing gear to guns. They’re really friendly and might be able to point you in the right direction.

Mal