Mountain Project Logo

Finding climbing buddys

Original Post
Kyle Maskell · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jan 2019 · Points: 0

I live in Augusta maine right now and i have no clue how to find climbing buddys. I need help. I have some experience with climbing man made, and some rock. I work with the boy scouts of America during June and july and last year i got my C.o.p.e. director certification. And run a natural rock climb and i got hooked. But i have no clue how to find people to sport climb with.

jessie briggs · · NH · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 636

Local climbing gym hahaha Maine has like two climbing gyms. Both are in Portland. There’s a good climbing scene in Acadia durning the summer. Come to Alpenglow and chat with the folks there. 

Brian 1 · · Oceanside · Joined Aug 2017 · Points: 0

Running into people already climbing at the crag has been fun but can be hit or miss.

For me, the climbing gym has mostly proven a great way to find people who make great excuses for NOT climbing outside.
I've been asking people at the gym to go with me outside and it's been a load of BS. I still ask fellow climbers, but don't expect much.

Lmao yeah clibing gym is funny they don't like to pulling on Rock they prefer man-made for the most part. I like to be outside. I've never seen a fox in a Climbing Gym LOL. And yes i think Portland is the only one i have seen. 

ClimbingOn · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2008 · Points: 0

I mean this in the nicest way...when seeking out climbing partners leave out your Boy Scouts (now Scouts) experience.