Mountain Project Logo

Hands or feet?

Original Post
Anthony McGlynn · · East Stroudsburg, PA · Joined Jul 2018 · Points: 0

I seem to be at a standstill in my routes. I am currently gym climbing in an effort to improve for some outdoor trad and sport. I'm relatively new to climbing, only about 6 months of experience, and have progressed from 5.7s to 5.9s in my gym in the first month but am stuck at 5.9 since. I've heard from some of the locals at my gym that our routes are sandbagged a little and should actually be rated one or two grades higher than they are but me being green as cut grass I couldn't tell you what they should be. Ive never had a problem with my grip in the past, 10 years heavy judo and brazillian jiujitsu experience as well as motocross and construction work for my whole life, nor have I had problems with it climbing up until 5.9 or 5.10. I am inclined to blame my grips but I already do a ton of grip training so I don't really see room for more. I did notice however on recent routes that my toes and feet are starting to burn out and I spend a lot of time on the wall resting my feet and subsequentally my hands burn out. Legs are good its literally just my feet and toes. Is this a thing? Has anyone else experienced this? Is there a training solution other than just climb more? Am I making excuses and I just need to admit I have a weak grip?

Brad Johnson · · Charlotte, NC · Joined Jul 2017 · Points: 0

Are your shoes sized right?  You don't need 2 sizes down in a gym.  I've never heard of resting your feet, so I would start there. 

Brad Johnson wrote: Are your shoes sized right?  You don't need 2 sizes down in a gym.  I've never heard of resting your feet, so I would start there. 

They're tight but not 2 sizes down. My toes curl a bit but they're not normally painful just wearing them while i belay. I have no problems keeping them on the whole time I'm there. So I don't think so? 

Larry S · · Easton, PA · Joined May 2010 · Points: 872