Mountain Project Logo

A Punter's Journey

Original Post
Garrett R. · · Colorado · Joined Oct 2008 · Points: 25
Intro:

So here's the deal. I really want to send Astroman. It's been a big ambition of mine for years, and it's time to put the work in. I've marked my calendar for October 2019, put up a motivational topo on the wall, and am committing to making it happen. I'm letting you lot know for a couple reasons:

-if I flake out, get lazy, or am just totally on the wrong track, I invite you to publicly shame me on the internet. Accountability goes a long ways.
-you're bored and on Mountain Project, you need something to read.
-those of you who have climbed the route, or embarked on similar goals might have some wisdom to throw my way.

Background:

I've been climbing for about 11 years now. I've gone through cycles of psyche and focus, but never really trained that hard. I've onsighted 5.11c trad a couple times, and been shut down on it plenty of times. On bolts, I've regularly climbed 11+ with some 12a/b ticks here and there. I'm not at my strongest right now, but I'm fit. I don't boulder for shit. I've climbed loads of multipitch, though for the most part only up to 11a. I've got some Yosemite experience, having climbed the Nose, Lurking Fear, and Washington Column (all with plenty of aid) as well as easier classics like Serenity-Sons.

I'm wrapping up nursing school in a couple months, and with a change in life circumstances I find myself in need of something to throw myself into. I have more than enough free time to manage consistent training and cragging days. I've got a couple folks in mind, but still need to find a partner to commit with me, but I'm sure it'll happen.