Mountain Project Logo

Jiujitsu

Original Post
Anthony McGlynn · · East Stroudsburg, PA · Joined Jul 2018 · Points: 0

Mostly of the Brazilian variety but are there any other grapplers out there? Seems the only thing I have going for me when climbing is my grip and I feel like jiujitsu is mostly to blame.

Trad Princess · · Not That Into Climbing · Joined Jan 2012 · Points: 1,175

I took it for a month.  Blew my knee out 

Howard Rice · · WI · Joined Sep 2008 · Points: 0

I’ve been doing bjj for just under 2 years. Good workout.

Mike C · · Co · Joined Jan 2006 · Points: 1,046

Offwidths!!

Benjamin Chapman · · Small Town, USA · Joined Jan 2007 · Points: 18,974

Perhaps you should try using your feet?

climberish · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2013 · Points: 10

I more or less gave up jiujitsu when I started climbing 7 or 8 years ago... I slowly transitioned out of it due to injuries. Finger, shoulder, and elbow injuries are very prevalent in both sports. I couldn't give both sports the effort they require due to that. So I picked climbing. 

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276
Anthony McGlynn wrote: Mostly of the BrazilianI variety but are there any other grapplers out there? Seems the only thing I have going for me when climbing is my grip and I feel like jiujitsu is mostly to blame.

I don't think any sport would be bad for climbing (maybe weightlifting?). Grip is a good thing, Old guy grappler here. BJJ for twenty years.

They seem very similar to me physically and like they would have a lot of the same injuries. But it seems like most people pick one or the other. Are any of you able to balance the two together?

grog m · · Saltlakecity · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 70
Anthony McGlynn wrote: They seem very similar to me physically and like they would have a lot of the same injuries. But it seems like most people pick one or the other. Are any of you able to balance the two together?