Mountain Project Logo

Mountaineering Destinations (Beginners)

Original Post
O’Shay Kramer · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2018 · Points: 0

I know this topic has been done to the death, but I’m looking for some rather specific advice. I wanted to know if any good beginner mountaineering destinations with a variety of alpine routes. I have a decent foundation in rock climbing now (lead trad 5.10), but absolutely no experience in ice or snow.

The goal for me when I started climbing was to become an alpinist, and I just haven’t had the opportunity to do anything of that nature. I’m from Florida (living in Maryland currently), so not exactly ideal locations. I’m a student on a budget, but I’m taking a break from school and have about $8,500 for this trip + alpine gear. I’ve got a trad rack but really don’t know anyone else who does alpine climbing so I’m not sure where to start. I’m a pretty decent photographer so maybe I could trade some pics of people sending for some mentor ship? I have no idea.

Just to clarify when I say mountaineering, I mean more climbing in an alpine style (light and fast).

If you were in my shoes and had $8,500 for the trip, were completely new and didn’t know anybody, where would you go? I’m open to international suggestions as well. 

Kip Kasper · · Bozeman, MT · Joined Feb 2010 · Points: 200

Don't spend all that in one place! Check out the North Cascades, Washington (State). Anywhere else in the lower 48 isn't really true alpine terrain.

JCM · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2008 · Points: 115

How long do you have, and what time of year? These are both important considerations. 

Cory B · · Fresno, CA · Joined Feb 2015 · Points: 2,577

Canadian Rockies.

JCM wrote: How long do you have, and what time of year? These are both important considerations. 

I’m taking a year off of school, so I’m quitting my Maryland job in September and then have until next September. So I can really go any time.