Mountain Project Logo

Gym climbing mishaps. Belay mistakes.

Original Post
Mars La · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2018 · Points: 0

Hey all this is my first post here! 

So I’m beating myself up about making a mistake with my climbing partner in the gym last night. I have the belay technique down but I notice that I mess up on simple things.

I tied into the wrong side of the rope and had my climber on the side that is farther from the wall. When they fell they swung out and got twisted with my side of the rope. He yelled at me and that caused me to get really embarrassed.
I feel like an idiot because I just never put the 2 things together.

I’m still learning so I know I’ll get over it and never make that mistake again but I can’t help but feel like a dweeb.

Anyone have any not so obvious belaying tips? Things to always (aside from the knot and belay device) double check before climbing?

Also if you have a story to share, I’d appreciate it.

Dave Baker · · Wiltshire · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 303

The partner check is a two-person activity.  If your partner ALSO did not notice that they tied into the wrong side, they should cast as much blame on themselves as they did on you.  

Hamish Hamish · · Fredericksburg, VA · Joined May 2017 · Points: 15

He yelled at you because the rope got twisted?  Find a new partner.  Most likely belayer position, rather than what side you’re tied into, has more effect on whether a climber on TR would get twisted up in a fall.  Regardless, this should have been a learning moment, not a license to yell and embarrass.

Also, if you two agreed that the side tied into was the problem, why would that be your fault and not his?  Maybe he was just mad that he fell ;)

Will Handy · · Denver, CO · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 10

Sounds like you have a shit climbing partner. Making sure he's tied into the right side of the rope is just as much his responsibility as it is yours.