Mountain Project Logo

Extreme Gardening Questions

Original Post
Dylan Stuart · · Juneau, AK · Joined Nov 2015 · Points: 444

Whats your technique for cleaning those dirt filled cracks? While I wish I lived in a clean rock paradise... that is not the case here. 

I've been recently using a weeder / nut tool and then doing some brushing after that. Top to bottom. A recent trip to Index introduced me to the concept of people using leaf blowers. Anyone have good recommendations backpack vs handheld?  

John Wilder wrote: Google the Squamish climbers forum. They have a recommended kit for cleaning and development 

Don't see a recommended kit anywhere. A lot of great info about some climbs... and now my desire to get back to the Canadian promised land is rising

Francis Haden · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 9

I've been using leaf blowers for about 10 years and it's the way to go really unless the rock is very clean or the cleaning limited to a discrete area.

Slightly heavy to carry around and there are considerations to manage; petrol vs climbing gear and not dropping the blower but if I'm bolting a new wall then I'll typically go ahead and drill and glue everything first, then do a complete sweep of the wall with a blower after. Much faster than working route by route.

Jon Nelson · · Redmond, WA · Joined Sep 2011 · Points: 8,191

Leaf blowers do nothing for dirt in cracks in rainy areas where the roots infest the dirt. One might as well use a whisk broom.

Look up the serrated kama tool. Some sites might call it a rice-reaping tool or a serrated scyth. It looks like a strange saw, but cuts through root-infested dirt and moss like nothing else. Daiso down here in WA sells it for $1.50, but one should reinforce it. I have a picture of it on my personal page.

A notched ice axe works well too, but doesn't cut the roots and doesn't slide into as thin a crack. A hammer with a large-radius claw is also good for the wider cracks.

Also see