Mountain Project Logo

Do you guys have any beginner (V3 level) training beta

Original Post
Seth Bleazard · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2018 · Points: 395

I am a beginner who can climb V3 in the gym. Do you guys have training routines that might help. 

Abram Herman · · Grand Junction, CO · Joined May 2009 · Points: 20

Climb more.

Seriously, though. V3 is not a level where you need to be doing any training more specific than just climbing. Climb things that are hard for you, climb things that you feel are your weakness, climb things you don't want to climb.

Ok thanks. 

Mike Slavens · · Houston, TX · Joined Jan 2009 · Points: 35
Abram Herman wrote: Climb more.

Seriously, though. V3 is not a level where you need to be doing any training more specific than just climbing. Climb things that are hard for you, climb things that you feel are your weakness, climb things you don't want to climb.

Agreed strength is likely not the limiting factor, but practicing bad technique is just going to make it all the more difficult to make improvements.