Mountain Project Logo

Question regarding shoe concept (gym, outdoor and multi pitch)

Original Post
Moe Montana · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2018 · Points: 0

Hi everyone,

I've been around in this forum for a good amount of time and got a lot of great information out of that so I decided to join up. Just a few quick words, I've been climbing for about 9 months now, mostly in the gym but started multipitch climbing this spring and I'm currently trying to get as much experience on actual rock as possible to expand my limit for alpine climbing. I'm being quite ambitious about this because climbing has become my great passion REALLY fast.

So I'm currently a bit confused about what shoes to get for that purpose. I currently climb in Katana Laces which I really love so far. They fit great (went one size down from street shoe size) and I always feel secure when climbing in them.
I also got a paar of Mythos (1,5 sizes down from street shoe size) which were snug and felt great at first but after putting them through quite some multipitch adventures they stretched too much for me to actually feel safe with them when I tried to do some more challenging vertical climbing. I originally planned to use those for outdoor sports climbing as well but I think I'm not gonna use them much more than for real easy alpine routes or slab climbing in the future.

Now my question is what would you guys recommend concept wise having said all that?
I kinda think I have to get another multi pitch shoe for more vertical and demanding routes, I got my eyes on the TC Pro and Anasazi Pink (the KL would work for short multi pitch routes but definitely not for all day action). Also I thought about making the Katana my primary shoe for outdoor sport climbing and getting another gym shoe (thought about Vapor V, Futura, Genius depending on which one fits best).