Mountain Project Logo

Hood/Baker/Rainer Getting on Ice

Original Post
Caleb Nosak · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2018 · Points: 0

Hi,
My buddy Greg Bone and I would like to do as much climbing in Washington this June as we can. He is 23 and Im 21 and were both in great shape. He has climbed numerous 14ers all over CO. Ive also been ice climbing in CO. Also, I have been climbing trees for several years as an arborist, so I'm familiar with knots and comfortable on ropes. Last week we climbed Kit Carson via the outward bound couloir. I have extensive backpacking experience in California, Colorado, and Arkansas. Glaciers is both something we've never experienced, and we understand the danger of crevasses. Ideal partner would be anyone planning a trip this June who would enjoy teaching us a few things we dont know already, like crevasse rescue. Frankly, we are both in college; we can scrape up the cash for gear but not $2000 for a guide whose going to cook all our meals and tell us how many undies to pack. We have axes, crampons, boots, he even has a rope and one screw. Were limited in gear and knowledge when it comes to crevasses avoidance

Are we overthinking it? Would purchasing our own crevasse gear, reading up on the topic and practicing ourselves be enough?

nixoriugis · · Quebec · Joined Dec 2017 · Points: 0

Any chance for June 18th to 23rd? I have climbed high a bit in Mexico and South America (5 6000+m including Aconcagua) and am looking to climb more snow now. I'm mostly looking at Baker and Shuksan as I will be coming from Canada, but really anything with snow and available permits could do.
Have you considered taking a glacier travel course? I'm sure there are plenty of opportunities for 1-2 day courses in CO or WA and I have found them to be much more cost effective than a guide if your goal is further unguided climbs.