Mountain Project Logo

New To Massachusetts Outside Community

Original Post
Courtney Fahlin · · Worcester, Ma · Joined Apr 2018 · Points: 0

Hello!

I have been climbing in gyms since 2012-2013, I recently was taken outside and now I have the bug for sure! I live out in Somerville and my car is out in central mass. I am trying to do some of the easier to access stuff, for the time being, I usually top out at v3-v4 outside and 5.9-5.10a as well. I can do better in the gym, however, I am still getting the hang of real rocks.

If anyone has any tips or trips to recommend please do!!

Thanks in advance, and much love.

Courtney

Eric Engberg · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2009 · Points: 0

Most people in your situation connect with folks they meet at the gym who will take them outside.  That has pros/cons - you know the people, you don't necessarily know if they are competent.  Next step up - most gyms provide outside trips - costs $$$ but they should be competent.  Or there are various meetups groups. I am involved with the AMC - you can check out my group's website - amcbostonclimbers.com - but we don't really have that many open trips.  What I would avoid doing is going with random strangers you meet on the Internet.

Spencer Ringwood · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 0

Hey Courtney, welcome to town.

MetroRock over in Everett should have copies of Boston Rocks for sale, it gives you the low down on climbing in the area and I highly recommend picking up a copy. You're more than welcome to join my friends and I next time we go, they're just getting into climbing so we've been doing some pretty easy top roping.

EDIT: Lol hi!!!

Tim McGivern · · Medford, ma · Joined Feb 2012 · Points: 12,579