Mountain Project Logo

Interested in guidance in transitioning to civilian rappelling

Original Post
Brendan FF/EMT · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2018 · Points: 0

Good Evening,

I am looking for some guidance in transitioning to civilian rappelling and mild climbing-- from what I understand it is more considered "scrambling".  Given what I am asking Ill provide a little bit about my background, and while I am sure I am eons behind many here I figure it would help to give a baseline on my experience.  I have been a hiker for approximately 10 years-- and Ill admit to you just like I have my priest on many occasions, I have definitely taken some breaks.  I have spent 4 years in the Emergency Medical Services field, currently rated as something between an EMT-I and an EMT-P (state certification) for any of you that may have experience in the field.  During that time I have practiced mainly medicine however I have had some experience in Fire/Rescue.  I was trained to conduct high angle rescue (urban "rappel and extract") in addition to a few other experiences throughout my career, and quite frankly I always enjoyed the rope time.  Given my love of hiking and my love of being on the ropes I figured entering into the spring here in warm (*sarcastic*) New England I wanted to combine the two and make use of the hopefully warm season.

As I mentioned I am definitely new to the civilian side of things.  When we train and practice high angle typically it involves tying off to either a tower bucket, structural members, or if we're lucky a derrick crane.  However I am wide eyed enough to understand the likely hood of finding any of those out in the woods is akin to finding gold at the end of a rainbow!  And likewise when we work it typically involves going over the side of a building onto a platform (window washers, etc) or down an elevator shaft. Again not very woods-like.