Mountain Project Logo

FS Ikea bag rope bag/tarp concept

FOR SALE/WANTED WARNING: Mountain Project cannot verify the identity or trustworthiness of any member. Fraud has happened.
  • Do not use PayPal "gift" payments, wire transfers, Western Union, etc.
  • Use PayPal credit card payments, or other systems that protect you from fraud.
Original Post — This topic is locked and closed to new replies
Aidan Raviv · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Dec 2017 · Points: 95

Hi all, in case you missed my post in gear discussion:

I made a few rope bag/tarp things. I have been using a very similar design for about 6 months with no issues and enough people asked to buy it that I decided to try selling them here on MP. I am selling them for $25 (you pay shipping) and they cost about $12 in materials so I'm basically just making enough money to justify the 2-3 hours it takes to make each bag. 

DISCLAIMER: I'm not a professional and I the bags won't all look the same due to differences in zipper/fabric/thread/stitching combos. If this bothers you, make your own or pay extra for me to source more matchy materials.

Here's the bag zipped up and flat on the ground. Unlike a normal ikea bag, these lie flat and are more of a tote style. You gain a little bit of space but it doesn't lie flat when it's empty. C'est la vie.

This is a mesh pocket for shoes so they don't get as gross. It is sized for one shoe/pocket and the pockets are not huge so if you have big feet you may need me to make the pocket slightly larger.

There are also 2 smallish zippered pockets for phone/snacks. This particular bag was partially made from spare parts I had around the house so the zippers on the pockets are not as big as I'd like but future bags will have larger pocket zippers.