Mountain Project Logo

Best Crack Climbs in Joshua Tree

Original Post
Alex Fyfe · · Mother Earth · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 55

Hey Guys!

So I'm Moving to Vegas this summer and expect myself to be visiting J-Tree quite often as I will be less than 3 hours away, but since I've never been there before I have very little knowledge of the area or the climbs. That being said I figured I'd hop on MP to get a head start on my todo list, so if you guys would be so kind to recommend some of the best, or your favorite, crack climbs and maybe some test pieces of the area that would be super helpful.

What I'm looking for is fingertip to offwidth cracks ranging from 5.9 to 5.13.

Thanks guys, and I hope to se some of you out there!

Eric Engberg · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2009 · Points: 0

J-Tree?  Summer?  The best ones will be the ones in the shade.....

Ken Noyce · · Layton, UT · Joined Aug 2010 · Points: 2,648
Alex Fyfe wrote:

Hey Guys!

So I'm Moving to Vegas this summer and expect myself to be visiting J-Tree quite often as I will be less than 3 hours away, but since I've never been there before I have very little knowledge of the area or the climbs. That being said I figured I'd hop on MP to get a head start on my todo list, so if you guys would be so kind to recommend some of the best, or your favorite, crack climbs and maybe some test pieces of the area that would be super helpful.

Equinox!

walmongr · · Gilbert AZ · Joined Aug 2015 · Points: 130

Within that range their is a life times worth of "best cracks"!! Good luck in the summer it's a little warm then...

Xan Calonne · · Yucca Valley · Joined Mar 2010 · Points: 61

The ones having the most fun.

corpse · · jtree area · Joined Jun 2006 · Points: 5
FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276
Alex Fyfe wrote:

Hey Guys!