Mountain Project Logo

Relatively New Climber Training Question!

Original Post
Will Bland · · Halifax, NS · Joined Jun 2017 · Points: 490

Hi all. Would really appreciate it if I could get some experienced insight into my plan!

Context: I've been climbing for 5-6 months now. Outdoor sport and trad during the warm months, indoor bouldering during the cold months.

5'11 170lbs (implementing cardio on non-climbing days, and healthy eating. planning to loose 5-10lbs). 

Sport 5.11a-b Indoor V3-5, some V6

I can front lever for a few seconds, and hang +26% bodyweight for max hangs on an 18mm edge. I can do a pullup with +70lbs.

Belief At this point in my training age/climbing age, I am well aware that technique/skill is my limiting factor. Time on the wall, frequency and duration of climbing are the best way for me to improve (I believe).

Question Training max hangs twice a week, and working core 3-4 times a week would decrease my strength/ability during my climbing sessions. Should I be simply climbing every other day, and not training core and hangboarding on the side? Or should I be incorporating hangboarding+core sessions into my routine, even though it will mean I will not be as rested for climbing!

I climb for 1 1/2 - 2 hours Monday Wednesday and Friday. Resting on the weekend. I was previously hang boarding Sunday night and Wednesday. Core on non-climbing days 3-4 times.

Thanks in advance! I really appreciate any input.

Austin Kaiser · · Flagstaff, AZ · Joined Sep 2016 · Points: 192