Mountain Project Logo

Ice screw durability

Original Post
Hanna D · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2017 · Points: 0

I've started ice climbing and I'm slowly collecting the right equipment (very slowly, I'm a student in debt  ) and I've gotten the opportunity to buy older ice screws cheaply from a friend/acquaintance. A few BD express ice screws of different lengths and a Grivel 360. They haven't been used a lot (5 week/2week trips) but they are 7/8 years old. He says they've taken no big falls but who knows...

My question is simply whether it's a good idea to buy these older ice screws. And more in general: how long do ice screws last? I understand that there are big differences depending on how often you use them but is there a way to know when they're ready for replacement?  Probably this is general knowledge but I have no idea.

Gunkiemike · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2009 · Points: 3,492

Freshly sharpened (as needed) there's no reason 8 year old screws can't be every bit as good as brand new screws.  They don't go bad due to age.

jg fox · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2015 · Points: 5

Make sure the threads are in good condition.  If the threads are heavy nicked, don't buy them.

dave custer · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2010 · Points: 2,411

The good news is that the ice will probably fail before the screw is damaged. 

If a screw manages to hold a significant fall, it will probably be bent.

climbing coastie · · Wasilla, AK · Joined Feb 2011 · Points: 95

I would steer you away from them simply because they are express screws. If they were turbo express I'd be trying to buy them out from under you. ;-). Placing an ice screw without a knob on it can be quite the task (I can't believe BD still sells non-turbo screws). I guess they have their place, but on lead ain't one of them IMHO. 

jg fox · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2015 · Points: 5
climbing coastie wrote: