Mountain Project Logo

Hand caught in ATC while belaying

Original Post
Rares Roman · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2017 · Points: 0

I'm a beginner climber, 3 months in. Last night while lowering someone, due to the speed being a bit to fast i felt that I m about to get burned. Out of instinct, for just a moment i moved my hand up a bit and the skin between my thumb and index finger got sucked in between the ATC and the rope. (I did not let go of my break hand at all ) 

So here I am, in pain, with my partner hanging and my hand stuck in the ATC. I kept my shit together, tried to take it out somehow, saw that there is no way and asked for assistance from someone that was next to me. I told him to pull on the rope so i get some slack in the ATC and I got my hand out (again, did not let go of brake hand). My hand is fine, just a really small are that is sore, even though I expected blood and flaps.

So, assessing the situation I feel stupid that it happened in the first place, but i guess it is one of those things that you think it is not gonna happen to you, until it does. I am glad however that it did happen in this environment, no one got hurt and now i'll definitely be more aware.

I also think I handeled the situation quite good, not panicking, and thinking of my partner's safety first. However, I could've maybe asked for help a bit earlier(note that the whole thing lasted 5-10 seconds before i asked for help).

Did this ever happen to you? What did you do to get your hand out?

What could I have done differently? 

What if this would happen while being alone with your partner? How can i get my hand out without risking the safety of my partner and without fucking up my hand?

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Keep your brake hand about six inches back from the device at all times. 

Ted Pinson · · Chicago, IL · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 252
Dylan Pike · · Knoxville, TN · Joined Sep 2013 · Points: 488