Mountain Project Logo

Lifestyle choice: PA vs. DO/MD as a Climber!

Original Post
L L · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2017 · Points: 0

Hey guys!

I've been struggling with the age old choice of PA vs medical school recently, and was curious as to what you guys had to say (I apologize in advance for bringing it up again, ha). I'm really curious to hear some perspectives from PA's or MD/DO's here on the forum. What do you think offers the most flexibility/time-off for climbing and traveling?

I'm currently a pre-med college student working on my undergrad in Biochem, and pretty much climb every chance I get. I've worked as an EMT in a local ER for a while and love the atmosphere. I work with a lot of midlevels and doctors and they all seem pretty pleased with their choice. I've done pretty well in school and I'm pretty confident that I could go either route, at this point. Climbing and venturing outside is pretty much what I live for, and I'm looking some opinions on life satisfaction or happiness as a medical professional.

I'd really appreciate the response! 

Cheers!

caesar.salad · · earth · Joined Dec 2012 · Points: 75

MD here. Don't go to medical school. Your climbing will suffer. Be a PA or RN. 

Benjamin Mitchell · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 0
Tim Lutz wrote:

#problemsoftheprivledged

I mean that's basically what this site is though, right? Getting tips on techniques/training/gear/etc in order to pursue a hobby is well within the "first world problem" range. Not sure why anyone should give OP a hard time for trying to make an informed decision. 

slim · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2004 · Points: 1,103

i thought this was going to be a pennsylvania versus maryland question.

Benjamin Mitchell wrote: