Mountain Project Logo

UH Manoa

Original Post
aish · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2017 · Points: 0

I am a UH Manoa student trying to climb. The lack of climbing in Hawai'i has driven me to take up some urban ascents. Unfortunately, the University frowns upon urban climbing and rappelling off of buildings.This is the letter I had to write to the University. It is clear that the utmost sincerity was used to explain my actions

Jon Nelson · · Redmond, WA · Joined Sep 2011 · Points: 8,191

Too bad you got caught. Were you climbing in the daytime? 

I used to climb campus buildings at night (mid-80s). We called it 'buildering'. And I found that they always left doors to the roof unlocked, so I always did the interior descent and never brought a rope. Before climbing gyms came along, buildering seemed more common. In the 60s, they even made a guidebook for the Univ. of WA campus. In the 80s, you could still check it out of the main library (NW Section of Suzzallo) -- maybe it is still there. 

Between the reaction to 9/11 and the militarization of police, night-climbing on buildings may have become more dangerous since I did it last. So, you might consider trees instead. I thought that trees in Hawaii were pretty great for climbing. Good luck.

20 kN · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2009 · Points: 1,346
aaronishimaru wrote:

I am a UH Manoa student trying to climb. The lack of climbing in Hawai'i has driven me to take up some urban ascents. Unfortunately, the University frowns upon urban climbing and rappelling off of buildings.This is the letter I had to write to the University. It is clear that the utmost sincerity was used to explain my actions

There is climbing in Hawaii, sport, trad and bouldering. More than 500 routes and problems on Oahu alone. 

Frank Stein · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Feb 2012 · Points: 205

Doesn't U of H have pretty decent bouldering right above campus? A little crumbly, and there is the odd abandoned homeless camp, but not bad.