Mountain Project Logo

Offset cam sizes for which piton scars?

Original Post
Anonymous · · Unknown Hometown · Joined unknown · Points: 0

Hoping to hear from some legends on this one-- what are the most common pin scars in Yosemite and which offsets are needed for those scars?

Bump cause this post never made the front page...? Is this site only for selling your used shit, or can someone provide real insight?

In my experience I'm finding a lot of 3/4" angle scars... So what are the most common scars and which offsets work best in them?

Please don't destroy this post with neurotic ranting about which company makes the best offset cams.....

Ryan Hamilton · · Orem · Joined Aug 2011 · Points: 5

I'm not a Valley veteran, but I've had plenty of experience placing cams in pin scars. Of the offsets that I placed when I was on El Cap last Fall it seems like I used the Metolius Mastercam 2/1 (Yellow/Blue) a fair amount. I also found that Totems, more often than not, protected the pin scars better than offsets did. 

Trevor · · Salt Lake City, UT · Joined Apr 2012 · Points: 830

I'm definitely no legend, but I'll weigh in regardless:

I used my 0.3/0.4 and 0.4/0.5 BD offsets more than the other sizes when I was in the valley. I'll echo that Totem cams frequently fit pin scars better than offsets. I'd rather have Totems than offsets if I could only have one or the other. 

Goran Lynch · · Alpine Meadows, CA · Joined Jul 2008 · Points: 6
Brendan Muls wrote:

Bump cause this post never made the front page...? Is this site only for selling your used shit, or can someone provide real insight?

In my experience I'm finding a lot of 3/4" angle scars... So what are the most common scars and which offsets work best in them?

Please don't destroy this post with neurotic ranting about which company makes the best offset cams.....