Mountain Project Logo

How do you color code your cams?

Original Post
Nickc Diaz · · Colorado Springs, CO · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 0

I have a cam rack with cams from different company's and I'm wondering how I can color code them to black diamond cam colors without having to buy a bunch of new colored carabiners. I thought that I'd seen cam tape in the past, but now of course can't find it. Thanks for the help!

ze dirtbag · · Tahoe · Joined Jun 2012 · Points: 50

FIngernail polish

nathanael · · Riverside, CA · Joined May 2011 · Points: 525

Not worth it, just learn the sizes in each brand, won't take that long once you're actually climbing with them.

Ryan Hamilton · · Orem · Joined Aug 2011 · Points: 5

My buddy just uses spray paint on the top of the carabiner. I also color code to BD since that color system is used by BD and DMM. When I got my mastercams I was in need of racking carabiners so I just bought new color coded biners for those. 

Nickc Diaz · · Colorado Springs, CO · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 0

Nathanael Myton, I've done a handful of routes with my cams already. I understand the sizing the more I use them, but color coding would be better, otherwise I doubt every cam brand would color code their gear. 

David Deville · · Fayetteville, AR · Joined Oct 2013 · Points: 90

I would just deal with it until you accumulate enough colored biners to match each cam with a biner of the same color.

I think it's just going to look confusing and dumb to try and force BD colors on everything.

You will quickly learn how the colors between brands match up (and situations where one brand's color will fall somewhere between others etc...); it's really not hard and won't take you more than maybe 10 outings to get it down pretty well (I find re-organizing between trips to be as useful as climbing with the different brands in committing this to memory).