Mountain Project Logo

Longs Peak Cirque snow climbs?

Original Post
Sara Campbell · · Boulder · Joined Jun 2013 · Points: 10

Hi!  I've been out of town and out of the loop!

Martha's/Dreamweaver/Notch/Flying Dutchman... What's looking good?  Hoping to do one this Friday.  Thanks!

Koy · · Denver, CO · Joined Dec 2008 · Points: 85

Saw another post that Dreamweaver was in great shape as of last Saturday.  Not sure about the others.

brent b · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 470

All are in quite good condition. as is Alexanders and even DS and RC have some ice in place. 

cm j · · Tacoma, WA · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 80

Hopping on the question train here, I'm moving to the area in about a month and was not expecting these routes to still be in. How late can one climb alpine ice in RMNP?

Thanks all.  I'm no expert but July might be a good time for Kieners.  Just start early so Lamb's Slide rocks don't hit you in the face...

Also I heard something about doing the Y couloir on Ypsilon kinda later cuz you wanna wait for the nasty cornice to go away?  I haven't done it myself though

Dan Miller 1 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jan 2016 · Points: 0

Just did dreamweaver this morning.  Easy conditions.  Bootpacked snow stairs with short steps of rock or ice.  Bottom three steps are rock, but super mellow.  Top two steps are ice and pretty low angle.  We didn't end up roping up, nor the team behind us.  

The descent down the loft was straight forward with no signs of snow instability.  The snow was soft when we started up around 6 am, but very soft by the time we came down the snow ramp around 9:30 am. 

Alexey Dynkin · · Bozeman, MT · Joined Oct 2014 · Points: 0

Also interested! Particularly FD. Sara Campbell - can you post how it goes on Friday? Cheers. AD

Mark E Dixon · · Possunt, nec posse videntur · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 974

Any news on Dreamweaver or the cirque in general? 

TIA