Mountain Project Logo

How many days in a row have you climbed outdoors?

Original Post
F r i t z · · North Mitten · Joined Mar 2012 · Points: 1,065

In the mood for a pissing contest? Urine luck! ;-) I'm conducting some research for a work-related project.

Exclusions: paid guiding and bouldering. How many days have you climbed ...

1) In a row?

2) In a calendar year? (Serious Front Range weekend warrior points if you actually keep track of this)

3) Within a fixed period of time like a road trip (i.e. 18 out of 21 days)

ok, so the only thing that makes this work-related is the fact that I'm on my office computer.

1) 9 days in a row

2) Used to have it on a paper calendar, lost in a move (not a crux one, just one Uhaul). I used to be a teacher and would log my rock days and vertical feet. Then I got married and didn't have to impress anyone by "accidentally" quantifying how much fun I had in a year.

3) 13 of 15 days.

JCM · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2008 · Points: 115

Leave the counting days to the skiers. Count sends instead. Quality over quantity. Rest days matter. 

JCM wrote:

Leave the counting days to the skiers. Count sends instead. Quality over quantity. Rest days matter. 

Yeah, I found that out when I got a normal job and could no longer overtrain outdoors in the summer. I'm just curious to see what sort of stats the real dirtbags can produce, if they kept track.

Frank Stein · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Feb 2012 · Points: 205

2 years ago I did a 12 day trip across 4 areas and 1,300 driving miles. I ended up climbing each day to some degree, but got only 43 pitches in, mostly at or below max onsight level. I agree with quantity over quality, but sometimes there aren't enough days to take a rest day...and I did get my hardest flash to date on day 10 :-).

LLubchenco · · Carbondale, CO · Joined Oct 2013 · Points: 25