Mountain Project Logo

Don't get complacent.

Original Post
Blakevan · · Texas · Joined Sep 2015 · Points: 56

I’m sharing the humiliating video below to warn people about complacency.  I have been climbing for a little over two years and feel comfortable on most mid 5.10s and can struggle up a few lower 5.11s.  I have climbed with the person belaying me for about a year and half and we typically read each other’s minds about clipping, taking/falling you name it.  I guess we got too comfortable and it almost caused an accident.

This climb is a simple 80’ 5.8 and I only climbed it to video the nice views it has.  My belayer didn’t climb it and I was the last one up that day.  We didn’t discuss what was up at the top nor did we agree on if I would lower or rap.  Just another easy climb well within my range……

When I got to the top I yelled down to be lowered but with the wind, distance and ledge my belayer assumed I needed slack and was in direct.  Whoops!  I only dropped about 10’ until I landed on the ledge or the rope caught but it could have been much worst.  I didn’t get a scratch and just cleaned the draws on the way down. 

When I got down we had a long discussion and the belayer felt bad about dropping me but it was my fault.  I’m the one on lead and own everything about the climb.  I come from a background of training and lesson learned so I hope you guys can learn from my mistakes. 

Don’t get complacent because the climb is within your range.

Trust but verify everything with your belayer.

Work out a flight plan with your belayer prior to leaving the ground.

Work out communication strategies prior to leaving the ground.

Details, details, details, the little things can get you so never let your guard down.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9W0yC1ZVl8

Edit: spelling

physnchips · · Boulder, CO · Joined Jan 2016 · Points: 0