Mountain Project Logo

Beginner Looking to Climb Outdoors - Partner Anyone?

Original Post
Susie Chhuor · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2017 · Points: 5

Hi! I'm new to climbing and haven't yet been outdoors. I know, I know, you don't want to babysit, but if you happen to be one of the rare ones that don't mind climbing with a newbie, hit me up. 

As of right now, I don't know how to belay.. so you'll have to teach me. In exchange, I am down to bribe you with lunch for putting up with me. :D 

You'd need to know how to belay though, or we can sit at Starbucks and watch some videos together first. LOL ;)

I have a harness, carabiner, atc, shoes.
Based in Seattle with car! 

Old lady H · · Boise, ID · Joined Aug 2015 · Points: 1,374

How is it that you have some sort of intro to climbing, but have not been taught to belay? 

Just curious!

You are correct to try to get outside early on, though. It's far different than being in a gym (vastly more fun), but, isn't for everyone.

There are kind people willing to take out complete noobs, but you put yourself at considerable risk if you don't know them or their competency.

Good luck, have fun, stay safe!

Best, OLH

Susie Chhuor · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2017 · Points: 5

Hi OLH! 

Thanks for getting in touch! I got into gym climbing about a month ago on the whim when I decided to do a Meetup.com event. I'm new to the Washington area and wanted to try some new stuff. Most of the people stick straightly to bouldering/ gym climbing where belaying isn't involved so this is why I've yet to learn how to belay.  

I am thinking if anything I would just pay for a course at another gym, but it's also $150.00 or so and as a new climber, I'm finding everything to be overwhelmingly expensive. I suppose I am looking for a mentor or someone that would be willing to teach me the ropes and help advance and guide me in my climbing. 

I appreciate your concern and will definitely be cautious especially as a female! :)