Mountain Project Logo

SPI vs BSA Climbing Director

Original Post
Adam Gellman · · Bellingham WA/Burlington VT · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 261

So I am being sent to Camp School to be trained as a Boy Scout Camp Climbing Director. I am interested in how it stacks up against AMGA SPI, and if the BSA cert is recognized outside the BSA.

Also, as an experienced trad climber and top roping climbing instructor,  what can I learn there that I wouldn't get being self taught?

Jon Miller on the WS · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2008 · Points: 15

All depends on the instructor and course.  I've taken both courses (albeit nearly 15 years apart). The BSA course isn't officially recognized by anyone outside of BSA.  It is more on par with a college outings club training then the SPI.  You will learn some basic top rope set up, knots, first aid and instructional aids and tips.  When I took mine (in Nebraska on a climbing tower!?!). I ended up co-teaching almost the entire class as I had more real world experience then the instructor.  

You sound like you are in the same boat I was.  There won't be much if any technical skills that you will learn.  You might pick up some new soft skill things.  

Hopefully you'll be in a good group and make some new friends and maybe pick up a few good hints.

SPI is a whole different animal, serious guide training for serious guides.  It is a much better training then the old Top Rope cert.

20 kN · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2009 · Points: 1,346
Jon Miller on the WS wrote:

SPI is a whole different animal, serious guide training for serious guides.

Got a bit of a laugh on this one. SPI is not serious anything, it's entry level. It might be more serious than the BSA thing, but it's still basic. If you want a legitimate guide-level curriculum, you'll want to look into the rock guide certification which is several times more involved than SPI.

Nick Goldsmith · · Pomfret VT · Joined Aug 2009 · Points: 440