Mountain Project Logo

First time at City of Rocks plus late night arrival

Original Post
Seth Derr · · harrisburg, pa · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 2,260

Hi friends.  Trying to research an upcoming trip to City of Rocks and found a lot of good info on here but wondering if someone with experience in the area can answer a couple specific questions for me.  Feel free to PM if you want or just answer here it doesn't matter.  It's my first time in the area and originally we were going to get there at a decent time but our flight got bumped back and now we aren't landing in SLC until 11p.m.  So by the time we get the rental car and make the drive our arrival time will be roughly 3 a.m.  It looks like there's a lot of free BLM camping in the area, but with getting in so late I don't want to be driving around aimlessly looking for a place to park bothering everyone who's already sleeping.  Can anyone direct me to the best place to go given that situation?  We land on Wed night, June 7 if that makes a difference. Just renting a car so not planning on having 4WD or high clearance. Looked into reserving a camp site but not sure how that would work with getting in so late, plus the cheapskate in me has a problem paying for a site I might not get to until damn near daylight. 

Idaho Bob · · McCall, ID · Joined Apr 2013 · Points: 757