Mountain Project Logo

ski touring at mount charleston

Ben Taylor · · Alpine, Utah · Joined Jul 2008 · Points: 0

I go touring 2-3 times per week in the Wasatch mountains in SLC (across the street from Alta). Doing a weekend trip to Vegas and I am tempted to do some early dawn patrol on Mount Charleston Saturday early or Sunday if anyone is interested. I do this all the time so I won't be slowing anyone down or limited what terrain you might want to get on. I also have crampons and verts if there was something steeper someone wanted to try. Ideally, I would top out at sunrise and ski down back to the car so I can be back into Vegas in the morning. Thanks!

Ben Taylor · · Alpine, Utah · Joined Jul 2008 · Points: 0

Oh, it doesn't have to be mount Charleston either, that is just what I was calling the area (noob here). If there are better places to go I'm open to them. Probably looking for more aesthetic views than anything.

-Ben

MKGreen · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 15

Ben - not sure if dawn patrol will be worth the effort. I got out there around 9:00am last Saturday for some lower angle touring and condtions were bulletproof since there hasn't been any new snow in a few weeks and given the rapid freeze / thaw with the cold night temps and warm day temps. Conditions finally softened up and were enjoyable by noon. Perhaps someone with more recent beta can confirm if that is still the case.

Correction to my post from the other day - given the heavy rain today, climbing Red Rocks won't be an option but most likely Charleston will be quite good tomorrow. Can't speak for avy risk at this time. I'm planning to get out tomorrow- worst case lift serve at Lee.

ta hui · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 45

anyone go out lately ? snow evaluations?

ChainsawDancingBear · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2015 · Points: 0