Mountain Project Logo

CO for a Day - Where should I climb?

Original Post
Jason Eberhard · · Atlanta, GA · Joined Apr 2015 · Points: 111

Coming out to Denver from the Atlanta area for a one day adventure on May 13th and looking for some climbing recommendations.  I wish this trip was much longer but due to my climbing partners shortage of PTO and my requirement to be home for mothers day we are flying out after work Friday and taking a 6am flight home Sunday morning.  We're meeting up with a third in Denver.  I'm new to trad and comfortable leading 5.8 but haven't done multi-pitch trad so I'd prefer bolted belays.  We've both climbed pretty established 5.10C on sport.  

Looking for multi-pitch routes emphasizing:

1. Exposure / views (don't get much of this in the southeast) 

2. Some bolts, bolted belays, or really easy gear belays

3. Within a couple hours of Denver

4. Somewhere we don't have to worry about waiting in line or slowing other parties down

So far I've been looking at the First Flatiron which seems like it would be crowded and some of what I've read makes the gear belays sound difficult to a new trad leader or heading south to Helen's Dome.

The best situation would be if you have plans to go out that day and don't mind us following / joining up with you.  I'd be happy to return the favor if you ever find yourself around the ATL.

Cheers,

Jason

John Ryan · · Poncha Springs, CO · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 170

Check out the Center Route aka Carter Classic on Davis Face outside Buena Vista. Meets all those criteria except may be slightly over two hours depending on your location in Denver. Need good clearance but probably not 4wd. It gets a 5.9 but really there's 2-3 moves at this grade and you could pull gear if you needed. Bolted belays/rap stations. 4-6 pitches typically. Killer views. A bit alpiney at 10k feet. I've been hit with a blizzard in early May. 

jason.cre · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2014 · Points: 10