Mountain Project Logo

test-falling on trad placements without 2 ropes?

Original Post
Sergey Shelukhin · · Seattle, WA · Joined Mar 2014 · Points: 14

Hi, I'm just getting into trad climbing and want to test my placements. I was looking at some people doing a class yday and they would fall on their gear with top-rope backup.

Suppose I set some gear on TR and then want to test my placements without 2 ropes; or e.g. I climb some easy route and want to test them on the way down. Are there any safety drawbacks if, on the way down, I unload the rope, clove hitch to a piece with 3-6ft of rope between it and my harness, pull some slack in the TR above the piece, then fall on it either from being at the piece or below it (to reduce fall factor)? That way if it rips I'd fall on the TR. What would be a reasonable fall factor given that I'm falling on dynamic rope?

Ted Pinson · · Chicago, IL · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 252
Sergey Shelukhin wrote:

I unload the rope

How is that going to work, exactly?

Fall factor will be negligible, but it will still probably be a rough fall since there'll be no belayer to give you a soft catch and no rope running through the carabiner.  Ok for hanging, but I wouldn't do test falls this way nor extrapolate anything about what it's really like to fall on gear.  People overthink this way too much...just get out there and climb.  Stick to stuff you know you can do without falling and follow the stuff you can't until you feel comfortable pushing your grade.  My first trad fall was unplanned, unexpected, and uneventful.  If you really must practice falling on gear, get a party of 3 and a second rope.  There are many, many factors at play in a lead fall, and stretch of the rope is only one of them.

BrianWS · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 790