Mountain Project Logo

Critique my climbing technique please...

Original Post
Rachael Epley · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0
youtu.be/m98zI_y0VBk

I'm quite new to climbing. I've been going to Planet Rock climbing gym every couple weeks or so for about 5 months. This is one of the first V4's I've ever climbed and I was looking for a place to get some helpful criticism. I feel like I was muscling it toward the end in particular.
aikibujin · · Castle Rock, CO · Joined Oct 2014 · Points: 300

I think video analysis is a great tool that’s fairly underutilized by us as climbers. But I’m not sure if MP is the best place to get feedback. How do you know what you’re getting is valid, and not a bunch of BS?

But since you put yourself out there and you haven’t gotten any feedback, I’m going to give you some of my BS, and maybe that will get things rolling for you.

The biggest thing I noticed was a lack of body tension. At 0:11 when you matched on the big hold, and at 0:20 when you went up with your left hand to the big hold, your center of gravity swung out from the wall. This required you to catch the next hold more dynamically (very noticeable at 0:20), and that used more power. Now this is the problem with looking at a video without knowing how good the holds are. Maybe the holds are so bad you had to do the moves the way you did. However, more likely than not, you’re only focused on pushing on the foothold instead of pulling on the foothold with your toes. Again, this is very noticeable at 0:20 where your left leg is almost completely straight, pushing your CoG away from the wall.